Unique P2 Issue?

I began using P2 for private client communications in late 2020. P2 allows me to better step into their world without all the noise of email, Slack channels, etc. I create a shared folder/file structure in Google Workspace and leverage P2 for communicating and collaboration. We’re usually 90/10 Posts to Pages but I have clients who like to move contracts, agreements, wikis, etc. to Pages.

They get P2. But generally speaking, reviews have been mixed. Those who use it love it and will likely continue to use it even when our work together has wrapped which is core to my Post and question. They tend to be the more technically savvy types. Those who begin using it then revert to their old ways are often data disorganized anyway. A work in progress – I’ll continue to work on building a list of cohorts who get P2.

There is a challenge I hadn’t considered until recently; Disposition of the P2 as we wrap up activities? When a client engagement comes to a close, how do I move the site along with all Posts/Pages to them and off My Sites? Is this possible? I presume a WordPress account is needed and with any luck I’ve converted them to a level they’ll consider using P2 going forward.

Is there a reasonably frictionless way to do this? Thx. M

Message on the toolbar

After the initial awkwardness, I started to understand and like the new toolbar (in fact, the P2 design team is extraordinary, as it was the P2 layout that made me understand the block editor), but I think the message that appears to normal members of a site somewhat confused and negative:

Most people, at least initially, will understand that the site is the Space, not the Home. It wouldn’t be better just something like: “You have access to this space.”

Posts/Pages instead of New Posts, New Comments, My Mentions, etc.?

I can’t say I’m loving this change to P2 which I now see also affects all my own P2’s. Can someone explain the rational for the change and whether we have the option of changing it back to the way it was previously? Thanks.

Also, I see a “submit for review” button below the posting area instead of Post. AFAIK I am a Contributor here, so are there now different role permissions on P2 sites?

Cards?

@jonburke, when trying to link a specific comment from this P2 in the comments section of @justjennifer blog, I noticed that there was always a card, but with a link to the topic (post), not to the comment. I tested it on other sites and saw that the same thing happened. What is that? See:

File Block Using PNG File

Hi @jonburke I was going through attaching a file and encountered this problem. Normally, when I use file block and added an image, viewers be able to see the attached image on the post by simply clicking on it. But today, this happened. When I clicked the attachment (it’s a png file), browser attempted to downloaded the file with an error “Failed – No file”.

When I checked my media on the back end, I can see that the file is sitting there.

Have you or anyone @all encountered this error?

s
search
c
compose new post
r
reply
e
edit
t
go to top
j
go to the next post or comment
k
go to the previous post or comment
o
toggle comment visibility
esc
cancel edit post or comment
%d bloggers like this: